Skip to content

SEEDIG Executive Committee

History and past members


The inaugural SEEDIG Executive Committee was created following a call for volunteers, launched on the dedicated mailing list in December 2014. The initial composition of the committee was endorsed by the larger group, taking into account the expressions of interest, as well as the need for a multistakeholder and regionally diverse structure of the committee. The composition was as follows: Iliya Bazlyankov, Bulgaria  | Lianna Galstyan, Armenia | Aida Mahmutović, Bosnia and Herzegovina | Dušan Stojičević, Serbia | Sorina Teleanu,  Romania.

At the end of the 2015 cycle, the SEEDIG community endorsed the Executive Committee in place at that point to continue to act in its role throughout the 2016 cycle.

In June 2016, at the end of the 2016 cycle, the Executive Committee received an endorsement from the community for the following two SEEDIG cycles (2017 and 2018). One new member – Sasho Dimitrijoski, North Macedonia – joined the committee (based on a community decision), following one resignation (Iliya Bazlyankov).

In 2017, two members resigned – Dušan Stojičević and Aida Mahmutović. In September – November 2017, the SEEDIG community produced a Terms of Reference for the Executive Committee, and conducted an election process which resulted in a new Executive Committee taking office in November 2017. In 2019, the mandate of two Executive Committee members (Sasho Dimitrijoski and Su Sonia Herring) was to expire, and a partial election process was put in place; the process was not completed, so the mandate of the two members was extended by default. One of the two members – Sasho Dimitrijoki – resigned. Another member – Dušan Caf – submitted his resignation in the context of a community petition asking for his removal from the Executive Committee. The three vacant seats on the Executive Committee were filled in February 2020, as an outcome of a new partial election process in which the only three candidates were confirmed as Committee members: Desara Dushi and Olga Kyryliuk  as new members, and Su Sonia Herring for a new mandate.

In early 2021, a new partial election process was held, which resulted in Bogdan Banjac and Liljana Pecova joining the committee (to replace long-term members Lianna Galstyan and Sorina Teleanu, who decided not to run for re-election).

Previous Executive Committee members

Sorina Teleanu | Member between December 2014 and March 2021; Chair between November 2017 and March 2021

Lianna Galstyan | Member between December 2014 and March 2021

Sasho Dimitrijoski | Member between June 2016 and December 2019

Dušan Caf | Member between November 2017  and December 2019

Aida Mahmutović | Member between December 2014 and July 2017

Dušan Stojičević | Member between December 2014 and May 2017

Iliya Bazlyankov | Member between December 2014 and May 2016