SEEDIG Youth School | Class of 2019

Call for applications open between 12 November and 16 December 2018

Are you a university student (undergraduate or master) originally from, or residing in a country in South Eastern Europe and neighbouring area (SEE+)?

Are you interested in issues such as privacy, freedom of expression online, digital literacy, the Internet of things, artificial intelligence, and cybersecurity?

Do you want to know who and how ‘governs’ the Internet? And how you can participate?

If your answers are ‘yes’ to the questions above, SEEDIG Youth School is for you!

Read the details below carefully and apply by 16 December 2018.

What does the SEEDIG Youth School offer?

Online webinars

January – April 2019


During these meetings, you will get to know your peers and learn the basics of Internet governance, digital policy, and related topics. If these terms sound vague or fancy, don’t worry! During the Youth School, together we will dissect the jargon and see what these concepts really mean.

As a participant and student, you will also learn more about SEEDIG and other Internet governance processes across the region and the globe. Most importantly, you will become more equipped to meaningfully participate in initiatives such as Youth and national Internet Governance Forums (IGFs), SEEDIG, EuroDIG, and the global IGF!

Some of these online meetings will be run in conjunction with EuroDIG’s YOUthDIG programme, so another opportunity for you to get to know and interact with more people!

A full-day event dedicated to you

May 2019

During this event, you will get to meet the core team and key community members of SEEDIG. You will also get a chance to explore indepth at least one of the topics that will be discussed at SEEDIG 2019 – at your choice. All this through lively debates, simulations and other exercises we will prepare for you.

The outcomes of your discussions, as Youth School 2019 students, will become your contributions to the annual SEEDIG meeting. So you will be all set to join discussions on regional and global digital policy!

Participation in SEEDIG 2019

May 2019

A group of selected Youth School students will be among many other actors – from SEE+ and beyond – who will share their views and experiences on various Internet-related topics at the two-day SEEDIG annual meeting.

Once in Bucharest, all you have to do is to raise your hand and make your point.

No comment is silly, and no question is stupid. 🙂

What do we expect from you?

By applying for this programme, you commit to actively participate in all three components mentioned above. By actively participating we mean attending all online webinars, completing assignments, and providing your unique input during discussions.

You are also expected to become and remain active members of the SEEDIG community after the Bucharest meeting. There are plenty of ways for you to stay involved, and we will make sure you learn about them throughout the programme. 

Since the entire SEEDIG and Youth School components are in English with no interpretation in any languages, all applicants need to possess a good command of English.

Review and selection

Your application will be reviewed by the SEEDIG Executive Committee, possibly with additional input from SEEDIG supporting organisations. This year’s Youth School selection will comprise of three stages.

During the selection process, we will be paying attention to your motivations, overall performance and commitment to the programme; as well as to the need to achieve a diversity of participants, in terms of countries represented, fields of study, gender balance, etc.

The first group to be selected from among all applications will attend multiple online webinars and will be given assignments to get introduced to Internet governance, its overall ecosystem and actors.

A smaller, second group of students will be selected from the first online group to go to Bucharest and attend the in situ part of the Youth School, as well as SEEDIG 2019.

Three (3) students who will attend the SEEDIG annual meeting will be funded to become  YOUthDIG fellows and attend EuroDIG, which will take place on 19-20 June 2019, plus two additional days of YOUthDIG beforehand.

What about costs?

Financial support

Participation in the online component of the Youth School is free.

For the in-situ components of the programme, SEEDIG will offer financial support to a limited number of students who successfully complete the online component.

This support could cover travel expenses (to and from Bucharest) and/or accommodation expenses, but will NOT include a stipend, reimbursements for visa fees, local transportation, or any other costs. Lunches, coffee breaks, and social events will be covered as part of the SEEDIG overall programme.

Students granted financial support for travel costs will be required to make their own travel arrangements. The travel costs will then be reimbursed in Bucharest.


If you are among the students participating in the online component and you can cover the costs of your participation in the in situ meeting yourself, or find alternative funding sources – for example via your university – that would be great. We actually encourage you to try and find such funding, given our limited resources.

SEEDIG can support selected participants in such efforts, for example, by writing a letter explaining the programme and confirming your selection to it. If you require such a letter, please send us an e-mail.

Want to learn more about the programme?

Start by having a look at how the SEEDIG 2018 Youth School went and read testimonials from our alumni.

If you have questions, please write to us at

If I could describe the SEEDIG experience in few words, I would say it was a mind-blowing, full of positive vibes, intensive learning process and well-organised event. To all the youth who chase to be involved in the field of Internet governance and aim to have an impact on their community, the SEEDIG Youth School is one of the best ways to start, and it must be experienced.

Gentjana Visoçi |  SEEDIG 2018 Youth School